Thomas Kean Jr. on Immigration

Republican challenger


Illegal migration is a significant national security concern

In the wake of 9/11, Tom Kean believes that illegal migration is a significant national security concern. While the majority of illegal migrants crossing our borders are coming for economic purposes, the threat of a terrorist entering the United States through our northern or southern borders necessitates immediate action. Tom Kean believes that legal immigration is important for the future of our nation and we must encourage it. However, illegal migration that is left uncontrolled and unchecked threatens both our national and economic security. Tom believes that we can pass legislation through the congress that would respect both our immigrant heritage as well as our legal values that have stood as the framework of our national history. Tom Kean strongly disagrees with President Bush’s immigration plan and would have voted against the bill recently passed by the United States Senate that granted amnesty for those who have broken our laws and entered our country illegally.
Source: New York Times Election Profiles for 2006 election , Oct 8, 2006

Menendez’ soft voting record on immigration is dangerous

Q: Should illegal immigrants be forcibly deported?

MENENDEZ: An enforcement-only approach-which Kean now supports-has not worked. But last spring, Kean called for a path towards legal status for illegal immigrants if they paid a fine-similar to the bi-partisan bill I voted for. However, just two weeks later, Kean said the legislation should include deporting all undocumented immigrants. Making a felon of anyone undocumented would bring about the most massive roundup and deportation in the history of the world.

KEAN: Menendez voted against hiring 10,000 new border agents; voted against a security fence across the US-Mexico border; and voted against enhancing sentences for illegal aliens convicted of a violent crime. That’s a dangerous voting record. My immigration stance can be summed up in two sentences:

Source: Hall Institute N.J. Senate Virtual Debate (X-ref Menendez) , Sep 24, 2006

Stronger borders, no amnesty for illegals

Tom Kean Jr. called on Congress to tighten security at America’s borders, establish a national registry of legal immigrant workers and require 11 million-plus illegal immigrants to pay a $2,000 fine, back taxes and “go to the back of the line” to be considered for a work visa. Kean said, “I do not support a blanket amnesty for any individual who has broken our laws.” Kean said the most critical piece of his immigration reform is securing the borders.
Source: Deborah Howlett, Newark Star-Ledger , May 1, 2006

2021-22 Governor, House and Senate candidates on Immigration: Thomas Kean Jr. on other issues:
NJ Gubernatorial:
Barbara Buono
Chris Christie
Cory Booker
Doug Steinhardt
Hirsh Singh
Jack Ciattarelli
Joe Rullo
John Wisniewski
Kim Guadagno
Phil Murphy
Seth Kaper-Dale
NJ Senatorial:
Bob Hugin
Cory Booker
Hirsh Singh
Jeff Chiesa
Murray Sabrin
Rich Pezzullo
Rik Mehta
Robert Menendez
Stuart Meissner
Open Seats / Turnovers 2022:
AL-5: Mo Brooks (R) running for AL Senator
CA-37: Karen Bass (D) running for mayor of Los Angeles
FL-10: Val Demings (D) running for FL Senator
FL-13: Charlie Crist (D) running for FL governor
HI-2: Kai Kahele (D) running for MD governor
MD-4: Anthony G. Brown (D) running for attorney general of Maryland
MO-4: Vicky Hartzler (R) running for MO Senator
MO-7: Billy Long (R) running for MO Senator
NY-1: Lee Zeldin (R) running for NY governor
NY-3: Thomas Suozzi (D) running for NY governor
NC-8: Ted Budd (R) running for NC Senator
NC-11: Madison Cawthorn (R) Incumbent lost renomination
OH-13: Tim Ryan (D) running for OH Senator
OK-2: Markwayne Mullin (R) running for OK Senator
OR-5: Kurt Schrader (D) Incumbent lost renomination
PA-17: Conor Lamb (D) running for PA Senator
SC-7: Tom Rice (R) Incumbent lost renomination
TX-1: Louie Gohmert (R) running for attorney general of Texas
VT-0: Peter Welch (D) running for VT Senator

Special Elections 2021:
LA-2: Troy Carter (R, April 2021)
LA-5: Julia Letlow (R, March 2021)
NM-1: Melanie Stansbury (D, June 2021)
OH-11: Shontel Brown (D, Nov. 2021)
OH-15: Mike Carey (R, Nov. 2021)
TX-6: Jake Ellzey (R, July 2021)
Hot Races 2022:
CA-27: Christy Smith (D) vs. Mike Garcia (R)
FL 27: Annette Taddeo (D) vs. Maria Elvira Salazar (R)
GA-7: Carolyn Bourdeaux (D) lost redistricting race to Lucy McBath (D)
GA-10: Vernon Jones(R) vs. Paul Broun (R,lost May 24 primary) to replace Jody Hice (R) running for Secretary of GA
ME-2: Bruce Poliquin (R) rematch against Jared Golden (D)
MI-10: John James (R) - running for newly redistricted seat
MI-11: Andy Levin (D) redistricted to face Haley Stevens (D)
MT 1: Ryan Zinke (R) - running for newly created seat
MT-2: Al Olszewski(R) vs. Sam Rankin(Libertarian) vs. Matt Rosendale(R)
NJ-7: Thomas Kean Jr. (R) challenging Tom Malinowski (R)
NY-10: Bill de Blasio (D) challenging Mondaire Jones (D)
NY-11: Max Rose (D) challenging Nicole Malliotakis (R)
NY 12: Carolyn Maloney (D) redistricted to face Jerry Nadler (D)
RI-2: Seth Magaziner (D) vs. Allan Fung (R)
RI-1: Allen Waters (R) vs. David Cicilline (D)
TX-34: Mayra Flores (R) - Elected SPEL June 2022; general election Nov. 2022 against Vicente Gonzalez (D)
WA-4: Brad Klippert (R) challenging Dan Newhouse (R)
WV-2: David McKinley lost a redistricting race to fellow incumbent Alex Mooney

Special Elections 2022:
AK-0: Sarah Palin (R) vs. Al Gross (Independent)
CA-22: Connie Conway (R) replaced Devin Nunes on June 7.
FL-20: Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick (D) replaced Alcee Hastings on Jan. 11.
MN-1: vacancy left by Jim Hagedorn (R), deceased Feb. 17; SPEL on August 9.
NE-1: Jeffrey Fortenberry (R) Resigned on March 31, after being convicted; Mike Flood (R) in SPEL on June 28.
NY-19: Marc Molinaro (R) running for SPEL Aug. 23 for seat vacated by Antonio Delgado (D), now Lt.Gov.
TX-34: Mayra Flores (R) SPEL June 14 for seat vacated by Filemon Vela Jr. (D)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Candidate Information:
Main Page
NJ politicians

Page last updated: Jun 20, 2022; copyright 1999-2022 Jesse Gordon and OnTheIssues.org